Leadership Team



Harin De Silva Wijeyeratne
Chief Executive Officer

Harin is an Associate Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountant of Sri Lanka and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants of the United Kingdom.
He began his career at Ernst & Young Sri Lanka, where he worked across a number of sectors including manufacturing and banking. On completing his articles, Harin moved on to Ernst & Young Bahrain in 1992, where he spent the next 5 years specialising in auditing of investment banks.
After spending 18 months at the ANZ Banking Group – Bahrain operations, Harin joined Investcorp, Bahrain in 1999, where he remained till 2010 as Principal, Investment Administration. Harin was involved in the structuring of corporate and real estate transactions throughout the investment cycle, from the establishment of appropriate structures for acquisition, preparation of the private placement memorandums, to the administration of the investment on behalf of clients and to the final liquidation of the asset. The investments were primarily in North American and Europe.
In 2011, Harin returned to Sri Lanka to establish Avastha Financial Advisory Services which targeted individual investors, SMEs and endowment trust funds. In this capacity Harin also advised SLINTEC on business development and financial management before taking over as CEO in July 2013.
Since taking over Harin has worked to expand the scientific research offering at SLINTEC and has been instrumental with the team at SLINTEC in attracting significant corporate interest in R&D in Sri Lanka. Harin has overseen the Institutions move to its new premises at the Nanotechnology and Science Park in Homagama and helped to expand the offering at the Park to include the new Technology Incubation Centre. He also prioritises continuous outreach to companies, research institutions and universities all over the world to develop a globally competitive platform for scientific research in Sri Lanka.
In 2013 Harin established the SLINTEC Endowment Trust Fund with a view to channeling capital for fundamental research and to provide financial assistance to science and engineering students to advance education and career development.
Harin also serves on the Board of Union Assurance Ltd, where he is also the Chairman of the Audit Committee. Harin is also a member of the Lankan Angel Network which provides seed-capital to start-ups in Sri Lanka. Harin also supports grass root micro finance programs as well as projects that build English and IT literacy in rural Sri Lanka.



Prof. Gehan Amaratunga
Chief of Research & Innovation

Prof. Amaratunga is a Professor of Engineering and Head of Electronics, Power and Energy Conversion at the University of Cambridge. He received his Bachelor’s degree (summa cum laude) in Electronic Engineering and the IEE Prize for the best graduating student from Cardiff University, UK (1979). Since receiving his PhD from Cambridge (1983) he has held academic and research postions at Southampton University, the University of Liverpool and Stanford University. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and is a member of its Council. He has a long record of successful collaborations with industry partners in Europe, the USA and Asia (Philips, Infineon, Ford, Motorola, Toshiba, Fuji Electric, Samsung, Intel, Nokia and Dyson). He is the founder of four start-up companies in technology, CamSemi, Enecsys, Wind Technologies and Nano instruments (acquired by Aixtron AG in 2007), which have collectively attracted in excess of $150M in venture capital investment and been successful in transforming advanced research to commercially successful products. In 2007 he was awarded the Silver Medal by the Royal Academy of Engineering for ‘Outstanding personal Contributions to British Engineering which has resulted in commercial success’. He sits on the Investment Advisory board of NES Partner, a Danish venture capital fund. He has also acted as an expert in patent litigation for multinationals and as an adviser to leading investment firms. He has published over 500 archived academic papers and is an inventor on 34 patents.




Ananda Hettiarachchy
Chief of Process & Engineering Systems

Ananda Hettiarachchy is a veteran chemical and mechanical engineer with over 30 years of experience in petro – chemical and activated carbon related industries. He is a Chartered Electrical and Chemical Engineer. Currently he serves as a board member for many government & corporate organizations including the National Science Foundation (NSF). He was the former Director Hayleys PLC/Managing Director of Haycarb PLC, which is one of the Asia Pacific’s largest activated carbon manufacturers. He was also the Managing Director of Puritas (Pvt.) Ltd & Recogen (Pvt.) Ltd and many overseas subsidiary companies of the group.




Prof. Veranja Karunaratne
Associate Directer – Science & Strategic Relations

Veranja Karunaratne graduated from the University of Colombo with a Chemistry Special First Cass degree (1978) and obtained his Ph.D. (1985) from the University of British Columbia Canada in synthetic organic chemistry. He has held research positions at the University of Kansas and is Visiting Professor at the University of British Columbia. He is a Senior Professor in chemistry at the University of Peradeniya. He joined SLINTEC as a Science Team Leader in 2008. He has publish over 100 papers in peer reviewed journals and 160 paper presentations at local and international conferences. He is the inventor of over 15 patents. He has been the recipients of awards for scientific excellence from the Sri Lanka Association for Advancement of Science and the National Science Foundation. Veranja is Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK and an elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, Sri Lanka.



Prof. Nalin De Silva
Science Team Leader

K M Nalin de Silva is a Professor in Chemistry at the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka. He obtained his B.Sc. (Chemistry, First Class, 1992) from the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka and Ph.D. (1997) from the University of Cambridge, UK. He has gained postdoctoral experience from University of Cambridge (1998) and Louisiana State University, USA (2005 – 2007). He has active collaborations with Centre for advanced Microstructures and Devices (CAMD) of Louisiana State University and Department of Chemistry, University of Massachusetts, Lowell, USA. He was also a Research and Development Consultant (2010) for Haycarb PLC, Sri Lanka. Presently he is working as a Science Team Leader in Sri Lanka Institute of Nanotechnology, Sri Lanka. He was the Director of Career Guidance Unit (2002 -2005) of University of Colombo. He won the Presidential research Award for four consecutive years and a National Research Award presented by National Science Foundation (NSF), Sri Lanka. He is a member of the National Nanotechnology Committee (NNC) and Chairman of the National nanotechnology Research Panel at NSF. He is also a member of the committee at NSF for drafting the National Nanotechnology Policy of Sri Lanka and a member of the subcommittee under the National Committee for popularization of Science, to popularize Nanotechnology in Sri Lanka. He is the recipient of Professor P.P.G.L. Siriwardena Gold Medal Oration Award and Devanathan Memorial Award for research. He was also a Visiting Professor at Sultan Qaboos University, Sultanate of Oman.